And now I know...

12.10.2017

My hand is closer and closer to the doorknob and then I finally reach it. I can feel how cold the handle is because it is freezing out there. I am opening the door while hearing its creaking. I already had goose bumps but now I have it even more because of the sound.

When the wind comes in I can see how it lifts up specks of dust which sits down again on built-in wardrobes, framed photographs, grandfather's clock and on little bit creepy old rocking chair. Everything seems very faded and shabby. I am coming in and closing the door behind me. Wind immediately stops and the atmosphere is suddenly different. It is all dark there, I can smell a little bit of mustiness. My view falls down on potted plant. Well... Maybe not... There is a flowerpot, there is a dirt but instead of a plant there are just shadows of something that used to be alive. I am looking for a switch because few beams of light spreading through Venetian blinds are not enough for me. I have got it! But well... Everything is still dark like a soul of a rapist. I guess electricity is switched off.

Suddenly I can smell something really weird... It is so sweet and yet it also irritates me in my nose. I cannot relate it to anything. It comes from below the door on the right side of the room. I am afraid to go there but I have to! I know there is something evil but at least I have to know what the thing is. I am approaching the door with trembling in my soul. My legs and hands are shaking. It seems like everything is in the motion but time... time has stopped. I have to know! I have to know now! My forehead is covered with a cold sweat and my heart is beating like I would have been running for 3 hours. I need to know... And the door handle is so close. The smell is stronger and stronger. I cannot take it anymore. I need to know.

I am opening the door slowly with fear in my heart... And now I know...

Lucie Dvořáčková