CAE preparation guide for lazy people because I am one of them

31.05.2022

Alice Plachá

If you are like me and studying every day several hours isn't really your thing, you might be

doubting whether CAE is the right certificate for you. Or at least I was. At first it definitely

sounds like months of sleepless nights, constantly worrying about the upcoming day of the

exam. But it was nothing like that.

What I recommend the most is to find some tests online, or if you're feeling fancy,

buy a paper-based book. It definitely helped me having it, I've got the hang of each part quite

easily. Each part has the same layout (obviously the grammar and vocabulary is different)

and coming to the exam knowing what awaits you is relieving.

You don't need to study new grammar and vocabulary every day. Yes, it is nice to

watch a video about advanced grammar once in a while, but too much and every day can

make you stress even more and the overload of information can be counterproductive. I

personally prefer watching cartoons or movies in English dub, if there's an option, with

subtitles. Unlike life action, animated movies and cartoons are mostly designed for kids, thus

the English can be easily understood. Stress is natural, but worrying too much can bring more

 bad than good. Keep calm and keep going, I believe in you!