CAPPUCCINO (a poem)

17.12.2018

by M.F.

You're mixing my black coffee with milk and sugar,

to make life taste a bit softer and sweeter.

Even though you know that you can´t fool me,

even though I know you're just a cheater.


You're trying to calm me,

But you're the one who needs the peace.

The peace in your mind that you did everything,

everything for me not to fall on my knees.


So I'm sitting next to you drinking my cappuccino,

With pretended smile like I still didn't lose my hope.

But you know that when I turn around,

My mind is only thinking about rope.


So even you tried your best,

There is still one ingredient missing in my cup,

It's the feeling of happiness that I haven't felt that long,

That would do the so much needed push up.


I can see the concern in your eyes,

and the hopelessness of not knowing how to make my life brighter.

But you don't know that just the act of trying to,

Make me feel like everything is righter.


So maybe today I will try to find that feeling,

instead of drowning in sorrow.

I will do that for you, for your act of compassion,

and maybe once, for my better tomorrow.