Education - the ticket to a dream future. But what is the dream?

27.09.2022

Julie Hanibalová

When it comes to the topic of the future and my ambitions I get to the realm that is quite abstract for me. I didn't have any idea of what I would like to do as a job for a long time. That was because I have always been interested in so many different things that I simply was not able to choose just one. But now, even though I am still unsure about what my destiny is, I have got to the point where I realize there is not enough time to be everything I dream about. So I have started asking myself: What could somehow connect as many of my interests as possible? And the answer so far is journalism. It is the kind of profession that allows you to dive into various themes. That freedom of earning new pieces of information is exactly what I want from my future job. Another benefit of being a journalist is, at least for me, that you help others to learn something new and impart knowledge to them.

How did journalism actually come to my mind? Well, it all started in the first quarantine when schools were closed. All of us probably remember the tension of that time. The uncertainty of everything made me watch political events every day. I wouldn't be exaggerating if I said that I was addicted to information. And listening to many podcasts, watching news and reading the newest articles I understood how admirable job journalists were doing. I saw the importance of their work and like that the idea of becoming somebody as useful to society as journalists appeared. But after some time I have been overwhelmed with reports so that it was frankly insufferable for me. I've found out that my enthusiasm was unbearable and I had to find balance in my life again. I faced the fact that the topic of politics is too stressful for me and if I want to feel comfortable with my job, I will have to go a bit different direction than I originally thought.

It took me a while to realize I don't have to write and tell other people just about what the government is discussing but I can choose whatever I think is important, or exciting. That might have sounded a bit silly but when someone says media people usually besides social networks think of political or crime news and overall dramatic affairs. But that isn't the type of journalism I would like to do. So what topics do I want to focus on? Now my interests come to play. I have always liked and cared about art and actually culture in general, so this is definitely one of my prioritized themes. Another thing I would like to work with during my career is psychology, but I would prefer to use it more as a tool and not as a subject of my work. So I have some idea about my future although the majority of who I will one day become is still hidden in a fog of tomorrow. But in the end, I think journalism is one of the more realistic options I have.

Edited by MS