Friends Reunited

25.06.2021

Kristýna Posledníková

I am sure that if you own a TV, you have definitely at least heard about the TV show from the 90s - Friends, a very successful sitcom popular all over the world. For me personally it is one of my favourite TV shows ever. Story of 6 friends, who are simply living their lives in New York. Each episode had made me smile and laugh. After a long day this particular TV show always found a way to make me feel at ease. So you can imagine how thrilled I was when I heard there was an actual reunion.

The original show aired from 1994 to 2004. Loads of fans missed the characters and I also belong in the group of people, who rewatched Friends at least dozen times. After 17 years at last, we got to see Monica, Rachel, Chandler, Ross, Joey and Phoebe reunite. However I must say that even though I truly enjoyed the 99 minute reunion movie very much, I was originally expecting something a little bit different.

The movie premiered on May 27 on HBO Max and now it is available on the platform HBOGO. If you are going to watch the movie, rather than a new storyline expect a trip down the memory lane. The movie is basically an interview hosted by James Cordan. In between the interview sections, where you will find out some spicy things, are some old scenes from the original series and scenes just with the actors talking about their experiences. The movie also has a few special guest stars like Justin Bieber, BTS, or David Beckham. However they each appear only for a brief moment.

When asked a question whether some of the actors would consider a sequel movie, the given answer was simple: No. And even though it is sad that Friends had come to an end, I couldn't agree more. The ending of the show was pretty much brilliant and everyone got a happy ending. The documentary movie did definitely bring out lots of good memories and at the same time it made me realize how much time has passed. I was only 1 year, when the show ended and now I am an adult! The movie was absolutely sentimental and I must admit that I shed a tear or two. It was worth it though and if you are a Friends fan or you even grew up watching this sitcom, you simply have to see this movie!