GPJP Tree project + interview!

25.06.2022

Ecology is finally being more and more discussed topic nowdays. People are starting to care about our environment in which we all live and are becoming aware of its importance to our lives. We in GPJP have decided to help and we made an event to help our nature, the Tree project

Professor Drobná with her students organised on Friday, 26.6.2022, a beneficent event for creation of our Patočka alley. The goal was to plant as many trees as was possible from money contributed during the event. Organisers of the event and other students cooked and baked various meals such as pizza snails, cakes, tarts, biscuits, muffins and brownies, which were the main source of  the contributed finance. However, the purpouse was also to support ecological lifestyle by selling fruit sacks and other green homemade products by GPJP students and encouraging people to be sustainable, by for example using leather bags instead of pastic ones.

Students also made a educational notice board as a wonderful creative drawing of a tree with leaves about the importance of trees. 

Gathered finance were sent to non-profit organisation called Sázíme stromy, in which trees are planted in areas where people can look after them, concretely to places where trees originally occured before, but do not anymore. 

"Thanks, let's move on. Sofi, how did you feel after finishing the project? Do you think it was beneficial or worth? And how did you all guys feel about it? I mean, what the whole project has given you?" 

"Yeah, it was totally worth it. You get to know new things, the project itself looks nice, people care about it and enjoy it, it's a better style of learning than sitting in school and I think it's paramount to talk about it. You know, trees are just essential for us, for everyone. I was really glad to see what we've done. I was really enthusiastic about the planting part of the project, you have the best feeling out of it. The project has given me a lot, especially a lot of experience and knowledge not only about nature, but also about our people, who were so keen to help voluntarily. So I am really grateful to them."  

"It sounds brilliant Sofi, I really like how you talk about trees, you seem so happy! Nevertheless, were you surprised how the Tree project all turned out?"

"To be honest, firstly, I thought there won't be any tree planting. I just felt like that was more than we can handle, that we can't implement that idea. Also I thought the event won't be that successful. I was afraid of failiure. Many people weren't at school and I think many people didn't think it will be more than a baking. But I was shocked how people acted, how many of them actually came and helped us. The biggest surprise was the information about the amount of money we've gathered! I was telling myself that I'll be happy with a few thousands of Czech crowns, but we have 16 thousand Czech crowns, so I still can't believe it!"

"That's amazing! I think you'll help a lot to our nature and that you've encouraged many students to be more ecological. I have a last question for you. Has the Tree project opened your the door to the world of ecology and nature for you? Are you planning to do such projects in the future?"

"Oh that is a nice question. It certainly did. Now I know that everything is possible, but you have to do something and not just talk about it. I am definitely more aware of the importance of ecology. When it comes to the project and my future with nature and ecology, absolutely. I would like to help nature as my livelihood, because it fills me up tremendously."

"Okay that was it. Thank you very much for your interview Sofi, it was pleasant and enriching talking to you."

"I really appreciate the opporturnity to have this interview, I was glad to tell you about the project, so thank you Šimon for having me!"  

Interview with Sofi Bendová, the co-organiser of the Tree project:

"Hello Sofi! How are you today?"  

"Hi Šimon, I am fine, thank you!"

"Well, I wanted to ask you a few questions about the Tree project event which was happening yesterday. Could you tell me how this all arised? Maybe whose idea it was and what made you to implement that idea?" 

"So it was an idea of our professor Jana Drobná, who came and told us that she wanted to do a some kind of a creative project about trees, because we were doing ecology in English. So we did a notice board. She also came up with the idea of the student event and the contribution for planting trees, because we wanted to leave a trace of the art project. So that was when I and my friend Rina came up with the idea of selling our culinary products to make money for the contribution. Professor Drobná added that we can sell even sustainable products like fruit sacks." 

"Wow, that's really admirable I would say. Thank you. I am interested as you spoke about the creative part, I can see a beautifully drawn tree, your leaf in it, can I ask who had drawn the tree and why you've chosen the topic Benefits of trees?"

"The tree was drawn by Alice Plachá, who is really talented and we all were astonished by the tree she has created for the project. And I chose the topic basically because for me, it's very important and I think people don't know much about it, so yeah. Also I gained more knowledge about benefits of trees and how trees, in general, are increasing biodiversity and have positive influence on human health."  

"Thank you very much Sofi, you really got me curious. Can you tell me more about how trees are increasing the biodiversity?"

"Sure, it is quite simple. As you know, trees are a home for various not only animal species. They're also their source of food and they provide shelter to them. This all is keeping them alive, so it is increasing biodiversity. If you guys are interested, you can find out more about trees in the notice board!"   

   - Šimon Petránek, chief redactor of the Nature section

Moments of the Tree project