London at My Feet

04.05.2021

Kristýna Posledníková

"I don't care! I have to see it." I told Maya as I sneaked out through the window. Today was the last day of our school trip in London, tomorrow we were supposed to leave to Manchester. This whole time it was pouring rain and our teachers decided that it's going to be better if we stay inside and we go to see only a few indoor sights.

When I first found out about this trip I was thrilled. I couldn't wait to visit the London eye. I loved heights and I loved London. It was the perfect combination for me. Unfortunately due to the bad weather, we had to cross off the London eye of our schedule. Teachers said we can't risk getting sick while we would wait outside in the line.

However the rain couldn't stop me! Yesterday I looked on their website and found out that the London eye is open until 9:30 PM. We usually got back to our hotel at around 6 o'clock, and at 7 we all went together for dinner. The dinner usually didn't take more that half an hour. That meant that from 7:30 to 9 PM I had the chance to visit the famous London eye.

I finally got there, it took me only half an hour. More time consuming was the line, which I saw right in front of me. After 50 minutes of pure waiting in the rain I finally got to see the breathtaking view. I can't quite describe how I felt at that moment. It was like I was the queen of the world. The city and whole world was at my feet for those couple seconds. It truly was enchanting.

When I made it back to the solid ground I noticed that it was 9:15. Time for me to go, since the bedtime was at 10:00 sharp. I got back to our hotel in the nick of time. I knocked on the window and Maya rushed from the bathroom to open it for me. " How was it?" she asked curiously, as I was changing my wet clothes for a comfortable pyjamas. " Amusing, I was out of breath. It was like I..." a loud knock on the door interrupted me. The door opened and we saw our teacher standing there. "Ready for bed girls?" she asked with a smile on her face. Suddenly her face expression changed and you could see clear confusion. "Why are your clothes wet?" she asked. I stopped for a second and then swiftly answered "As I was taking shower, I kinda splashed the water all over my clothes laying on the floor." She seemed to believe it, since after that she just wished us good night and left our room. "That was a close one" whispered Maya and she started giggling quietly. I couldn't agree more, but if I would have a chance to do it again, I would every single time.