My way to school

14.07.2017

HOW CHILDREN AROUND THE WORLD GET TO THE SCHOOL

Our way to school is for most of us really dispiriting. There is a documentary movie called On the way to school and that movie is about how poor people in the world get to the school. A lot of people talk about education in poor countries, but I have never thought about how they get to the school. Because it can be really far away from them and there is no buses, trains or cars. These pictures show you some ways how children get to the school every day.

The first one is in China; children must climb up on unsecured wooden ladders to get to the school. The second one is in Indonesia and as you can see the bridge is really damaged. The last one is in Columbia and children have to glide an 800m cable and it is 400m off the ground. These ways to school look for us, people living in the city, kind of adventure; we are actually paying for similar adventures. But it's kind of dangerous, especially when you are a little child.

My mornings are usually big stress and rush. I am hungry, thirsty, desperate for coffee, summer, holiday, half asleep and angry. I am waiting for the train and looking at all the people who look dispiriting and angry too.

And right now when I read about the children in Himalayas who are hiking at the mountains with lot of ice, or children in China who must travel along at the narrow paths at the rocks and it took them 5 hours. It actually made me think because the reason why I am at the morning in the hurry, hunger and anger is my own stupidity.

For us (or at least for me) it is kind a difficult to imagine that some people really appreciate education and school and go a really long journey just to make it. It's funny when you compare it and think about what kind of things you are complaining about.


Barbora Pavlů