One of the most important events for young scientists from the front row

19.11.2022

Julie Hanibalová

The eleventh year of JVK (juniorská vědecká konference) happened on 21. and 22. of October and took place in Prague at the Faculty of Science of Charles University. Anna Irová, a student of our school from kvinta A, participated this year. Even though she didn't win any main prize, she did an amazing job with her biochemistry project. I asked her a few questions about this event. So If you find science interesting, this is an article just for you. In case you are interested in JVK itself, click here for more information. And now on to the interview:

How did you find out about this event and why did you decide to participate?

Long story short, I was somewhat successful in solving chemistry olympics last year, so I got into the top fifty people in the republic and got chosen to go to a summer camp organized by VŠCHT (University of Chemistry and Technology, Prague) and UK (Charles University). I got a few contacts of people who keep me updated about some events. I decided to participate in JVK, because some of my friends from that summer camp were going and I wanted to see their projects and so.

What was your project about, briefly? And how did you come up with this idea?

It was about photosynthesis and decomposition of chlorophyll. We presented results of analysis of colourings in leaves throughout all the phases of decomposition. As for the idea, I really wanted to go there, so I asked my chemistry teacher, mrs. Borovičková, for some tips. And she suggested the idea of colourings in leaves.

Can you think of any highlights and lowlights of this event?

One of the greatest highlights was the excitement of others. The whole event was amazing - the projects, the visit to the UK's museum and collections, simply everything. If there was any lowlight, it would be the classroom we were presenting in, it was really small.

What was the hardest about presenting your project?

I was very nervous. My nerves got me and I got lost in what I wanted to say.

What did this conference bring to you that could potentially influence your future? Was there any inspiring moment that kind of moved you forward?

Experience. I know what it is like to present research to a scientific society that knows a lot about it. I would say that the whole JVK was full of inspiring moments and people, so now I got into a group of crazy friends that are really into science and move me forward. I feel like I got into an inner circle of this society and I won't miss out any opportunity to move forward. I took notes during other presentations and analyzed the lowlights of their projects so that I can learn from their mistakes. The problem is that they didn't do many of them.

Are you planning to participate next year?

Yes! It is not just about the competition, but it is a social event. I get to meet my colleagues, talk about the projects we plan, criticize, have scientific arguments, share experiences and get to see places in the UK a normal person wouldn't get to see.

And what would you tell people who want to try to get involved in JVK next year?

If you like science and if you want to study it, go for it. You will earn experience, make new friends and perhaps even find a sponsor for your future research. So If you want to go there, I would recommend watching last year's recording, so you know what to expect and you can also get some inspiration from those recorded projects. My favorite projects were Ornithology, Termites and the victorious project called Hledat brouka v kupce dřeva.

If you want to check out the recording of this year's presentations, you can look at it right here.