Trip to Zanzibar #2

29.04.2023

Anna Čapková


When I woke up in the hotel room after the first night, it felt almost like a dream! I could not believe it! I quickly got dressed and went out to find the hotel restaurant to get some breakfast. And I was in seventh heaven. The huge amounts of ripe fruits from passion fruit to mango and these adorable little bananas.


When I got to the beach I did not really understand why the sunbeds were further from the beach and why were policemen walking around the area of the hotel but when I went down the stairs to take a walk on the beach I quickly understood. People dressed as maasais ran to me and started to offer me their services. I could not escape them until one of the policemen walked to us and just stood there not saying anything but showing the sellers that he knew about them. During the stay me and my family figured out different techniques of avoiding them but still some of them would find us and then we just ran to the sea like a bunch of freaks.



After a day of just lying on the beach we decided to visit the village we were staying at. The hotel was financially helping local school so it offered us a tour with a short visit to the school.


Something I found quite funny about the village was the amount of cows strolling the streets. They were not interested in their surroundings and just slowly walked on the edge of the path. And the amount of vendors offering us their goods was also surprising.


Suddenly our guide stopped at a small square. We looked around and wondered what it was that made her stop. And then we saw it. Dozens of little children in school uniforms were running around the place. We realized that what looked like an abandoned building was actually the school.


We sat in on of the classrooms and we were listening to a presentation of one of the teachers. He was telling us about all the subjects the children are learning. We found out that the students were learning four languages from a really young age including English, however when we tried to speak English to the villagers no one understood.